New Jersey Ancient Order of Hibernians (NJ AOH) Unveils 9-11 Plaque

Order installs and unveils plaque blessed at September 11th – 20 Year Mass
Richard S. O’Brien State President and John Foy Vol. Pat Torphy Division President jointly stated, “On Saturday, March 5th members of the Vol. Patrick Torphy Division in Middletown celebrated the unveiling of our plaque honoring those perished on 9-11 in the World Trade Center.  We chose this day to coincide with our annual Polar Plunge that has raised approximately $1.7 million dollars to date for Catholic education under the leadership of Chairman Jim Shaw.  It was the sacrifice and loss of life represented from the plague and the catholic education support blended that made this the day to share the plaque with the community. Many people were involved in remembering our brothers and sister and we thank them. We will ensure the plaque’s safety and maintain its upkeep”.
Among the thousands lost in the attack on the World Trade Center on September 11th, 2001, there were nine members of the NJAOH. To commemorate the 20th anniversary of the attack on our nation, the NJAOH hosted a memorial mass honoring Hibernians who perished on that infamous day in New York City. Bishop Michael Saporito celebrated the liturgy with State Chaplain Father Ken Hallahan and Chaplains and Deacons from the AOH and Port Authority.
Bishop Michael Saporito with State Chaplain Father Ken Hallahan along with other clergy members blessed the plaque that was created to ensure the memory of all Hibernians were remembered.
The names of the members engraved on the plaque are listed below:
New Jersey
Members from The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Police Department St. Michael’s Division
P.O. Maurice (Moe) Barry
P.O. Liam Callahan
P.O. Tom Gorman
P.O. Steve Huczko                                                     
P.O. Don McIntyre
P.O. James Nelson
P.O. Bruce Reynolds
P.O. Mike Wholey
Peter Milano member of the Vol. Patrick Torphy Division
Father Mychal Judge, OFM Honorable Mention (Jersey City AOH Division Namesake)
New York AOH Brothers and Sister from several Divisions
Dennis Devlin
Kevin C. Dowdell
Sean Fegan
Richard Fitzsimons
Florence M. Gregory            Charles HoustonRichard Muldowney, JrGerard T. NevinsArthur Warren Scullin
Photo Line Up – Left to right
Leo McGuire State Treasurer
Richard S. O’Brien State  President
John Foy Vol.  Pat Torphy Division President
John Ward Vol. Pat Torphy Division Member
Bill Young Vol.  Pat Torphy Division Member